New York State Government

Our state government sets most of the laws, policies and regulations that govern labor relations and public employment in New York State. It is made up of three branches of government: the Executive, the Legislature, and the Judiciary.


Civil Service

Click here for a full list of local government civil service websites.



Governor: Serves as the chief executive of state government. The Governor's role is to enforce state laws, and they have the power to approve or veto state legislation.

Lieutenant Governor: The second-highest ranking officer in state government, the Lieutenant Governor supports the work of the executive branch and serves as President of the State Senate.

Attorney General: Serves as the chief law enforcement officer and prosecutor for New York State.

Comptroller: Audits local government and oversees the state public pension system.



Senate: The State Senate is composed of 63 members, and like the Assembly, it can create new legislation and oversees Executive Departments.

Assembly: Made up of 150 members who represent constituencies across the state, the Assembly is the lower house of the State Legislature.



Courts: The State Courts are charged with interpreting and applying the law.